Creating a Food Budget

budget-foodProbably one of your family’s biggest expenses besides your mortgage, vehicles, and insurance, is FOOD.  So how do you control your food expenditures but maintain fullness and nutrition for your family?

It can be done for reasonable costs.  During my research there are many families of 4 and moms that live on budgets of $200-$250 per month for food.  Check out Lydia for some great ideas.  However I was shocked at that number and further researched to find that the average family of 4 spends $700-$800 per month according to the stats provided by the USDA.  So my family is above  average.  We check in at about $1100 per month in food costs.  So now I ask, why and how can I save at least $400 per a month?  I don’t know if I have the will power to get to $200 per month.

I find that our family does eat out quite a bit, partially due to our work schedules and me being at graduate school at night so my husband goes for what is easy.  I also don’t have as much time to cook.  Secondly, we live in a mountain community where the closest Walmart and Costco are 40 minutes away so when we need staples and last minute items we tend to pay a higher premium at our local store.  No excuses but our reality.

So here are my goals to cut my food budget to $700 per month.  We have 2 adults and 2 kids, who are 7 and 5.  By the way they eat like horses- their nickname is “bottomless pit!”  This is not a bunch of junk food or processed foods– both my kids are high calorie, life loving kids who just burn energy constantly, even as babies and they are skinny as rails.  I wish I had that problem!

  • Plan weekly meals
  • Do not eat out for the entire month
  • Buy groceries at Walmart and other discount stores & buy in bulk
  • Avoid processed foods when possible
  • Try using coupons

It is good to set goals and I will check back and let everyone know how I do this month.  Wish me luck and hopefully the family does not feel deprived.

How does your family save on your food budget?  I would love to know your tips.  Let me know on “Mom Cents.”  Janna

Photo Credit

Posted on April 13, 2013, in Budget, Health, Kids Money and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. healthiestbeauty

    Reblogged this on The healthiest beauty.

  2. fantastic issues altogether, you just won a new reader.
    What could you suggest in regards to your submit that you simply
    made a few days ago? Any sure?

  3. Greetings! I’ve been following your website for some time now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from New Caney Texas! Just wanted to say keep up the fantastic job!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 106 other followers

